Total Pageviews

Sunday, 2 February 2014

And The Winner Is ...

The beautiful French city of Deauville was the location for the 13th annual Global Poker Index (GPI) European Poker Awards at the end of January and there was occasion for some Irish cheer as the awards were announced. Full Tilt Poker's Galway festival event scooped the European Poker Event of the Year award while Dermot Blain was deservedly crowned Irish Poker Player of the Year. 

Dermot is a great ambassador for both Irish Poker and the UK and Ireland Poker Tour (UKIPT) and he earned the award on merit topping his fellow countrymen in GPI ranking. Fortunately for Dermot he couldn't accept the award at the time as he was busy winning a PLO side-event for a cool €20,200 while the ceremony was in progress but he did tweet the following:

If you are wondering why the Galway event topped the list of best poker events for 2013 watch this PokerNews video that will give you an insight. Hearty congratulations to Kirsty Thompson, Fintan Gavin and everybody else that had a hand in making this event happen and winning this award. It's disappointing not to see Galway on the UKIPT Tour List for this year but let's hope it gets back there very soon.

Video courtesy of PokerNews

Here's a list of all the winners from the GPI European Poker Awards 2014

European Live Poker Player of the Year
Ole Schemion (Germany)
Rookie Poker Player of the Year
Adrian Mateos Diaz (Spain)
Best Tournament Performance
Philipp Gruissem (Germany)
Internet Player of the Year
Toby Lewis (United Kingdom)
Female Player of the Year
Ana Marquez (Spain)
Poker Industry Person of the Year
Neil Johnson (United Kingdom)
Poker Event of the Year
FTP Galway Festival (Ireland)
Belgian Player of the Year
David Kitai
Finnish Player of the Year
Joni Jouhkimainen
French Player of the Year
Benjamin Pollak
Italian Player of the Year
Dario Sammartino
UK Player of the Year
Stephen Chidwick
Irish Player of the Year
Dermot Blain
Dutch Player of the Year
Govert Metaal
Spanish Player of the Year
Adrian Mateos Diaz
Ukrainian Player of the Year
Yevgeniy Timoshenko
Jury Prize
The Poker Dealers of Europe
Poker Personality of the Year
Roger Hairabedian (France)
Lifetime Achievement Award
Barney Boatman (United Kingdom)


No comments:

Post a Comment